Want to add your event to our calendar? Click here.  Email events at (@) BhamNow dot com for promotional options.


View Events:

NOTE – Due to Covid-19 many events are being cancelled or postponed which might not be reflected here. Please double check with the organizer before attending any event.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Breathing Room: A Series

November 10, 2020 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

An interactive, virtual space by Black people for Black people to create and connect. 3-part series, 5 different facilitators

About this Event

As Black Women theatre artists and applied theatre practitioners, we believe in centering the voices and stories of Black people in spaces that are by us and for us.

At “Breathing Room: A Series” Black people will connect through the healing power of theatre and creativity. We will facilitate games and activities that integrate elements of Playback Theatre, Theatre of the Oppressed, and poetry.

Each gathering is grounded in a central theme that invites Black people to play, breathe, share, and listen together. Each gathering will be unique and co-facilitated by a different pair. Join us for one or all gatherings!

For anyone unable to attend and Non-Black folx, we invite you to donate and support the labor of the Black Women who are creating and facilitating these spaces.

DONATE HERE

WHEN

Inhale: Tuesday, November 10 @ 7-9 PM EST/ 6-8PM CST

Facilitated by: Cristal Brister and Lalenja Harrington

 

Hold: Thursday, November 12 @ 12-2PM EST/ 11AM-1PM CST

Facilitated by: Lori Pitts and Cristal Brister

 

Exhale: Saturday, November 14 @ 2-4 PM EST/ 1-3PM CST

Facilitated by: Sisi Reid and Mary C. Parker

 

(Zoom link will be sent prior to each event.)

 

COST

Black folx, this is a free event for you. If you are able to give, we invite you to do so. For anyone unable to attend and Non-Black folx, we also invite you to donate funds to support the labor of the Black Women who are creating and facilitating these spaces.

Created by:

Sisi Reid, Producing Playwright of The Welders

Lori Pitts, Founder and Executive Director of Voices Unbarred

Mary C. Parker, Founder and Principal Creative of Just Collaboration

Lalenja Harrington, PHD, Educator-UNC Greensboro

Cristal Brister, Applied Theatre Practitioner & Catalyst for Breathing Room

Venue

Birmingham, AL United States + Google Map


Want to add your event to our calendar? Click here.  Email events at (@) BhamNow dot com for promotional options. NOTE – Due to Covid-19 many events are being cancelled or postponed which might not be reflected here. Please double check with the organizer before attending any event.